Member Login | Join SPJ | Benefits | Rates

> Latest News, Blogs and Events (tap to expand)


Advertisement
— ADVERTISEMENT —
Advertise with SPJ
2

News and More
Click to Expand Instantly

SPJ News
SPJ Blogs
Quill Online
Journalist's Toolbox

Stay in Touch
Twitter Storify Facebook Google Plus
RSS Pinterest Pinterest Flickr


Tools for Educators
News/Articles
Let SPJ help guide the way
Collegiate Institutional Memberships
Sourcebook Teaching Plan
Public Records Teaching Plan
J-Ed Committee

Journalism
Education Committee

This committee's purpose is to promote excellence in education programs and practical research. It acts as a clearinghouse for the Society's academic members and students. It also works with annual convention planners on mentor programs both at the college and high school level.

Resources for Students
News/Articles
Internships
Training
Let SPJ help guide the way
Collegiate Institutional Memberships
Becoming a Journalist
Job Bank
Join SPJ
Mark of Excellence Awards
High School Essay Contest

Home > Journalism Education > Journalism Education Database

Journalism Education
Journalism Education Database

According to research in the Journalism Education Committee’s recent publication, Still Captive? History, Law and the Teaching of High School Journalism, many high school journalism programs report they receive very little help, if any, from local professionals or area universities.

SPJ has the ability to correct this. Share your professional expertise with a new generation of student journalists through web-based videoconferences. Have a phone conversation with a high school teacher and offer some of your successful teaching techniques. Reach out to an area middle school and volunteer to be a classroom guest.

The Journalism Education Database provides an opportunity for all SPJ members and local chapters to volunteer their expertise in helping strengthen America’s elementary, middle and high school journalism programs.

If you would like to participate in this important new project, send your contact information and a bulleted list of your expertise to the Journalism Education Committee at spjeducation@spj.org.


Anthony Adornato

Ithaca College
aadornato@ithaca.edu

Areas of expertise:
– TV news reporting
– Mobile and social media journalism


Matthew Bird-Meyer

University of Central Missouri
bird-meyer@ucmo.edu

Areas of expertise:
– Student publication advising
– Community, public affairs, and court reporting
– Editing
– Photojournalism


Candace Perkins Bowen

Kent State University
330-672-8297 and cbowen@kent.edu

Areas of expertise:
– Scholastic media
– Student free speech issues


John Bowen
Kent State University
330-672-3666
jabowen@kent.edu

Areas of expertise:
– Student free expression issues (law and ethics)
– Writing and reporting
– Scholastic Media


Janna Braun
San Diego Mesa College
jbraun@sdccd.edu

Areas of expertise:
– Student media advising
– Sports media
– Social media
– WordPress


Rick Brunson

University of Central Florida
rick.brunson@ucf.edu

Areas of expertise:
– Reporting
– Sports
– Mobile journalism
– Editing


Lynsi Burton
Seattlepi.com
206-448-8381
lynsiburton@seattlepi.com

Areas of expertise:
– Breaking news and crime reporting
– News and features reporting
– Digital journalism
– Small town/community reporting


Butler Cain

University of North Alabama
256-765-4260 and bcain@wtamu.edu

Areas of expertise:
– American media history
– Multimedia journalism
– International journalism
– Media writing and production


Adam Chiara

University of Hartford, Central Connecticut State University, and Middlesex Community College
203-417-5595

Areas of expertise:
– Journalism
– New media
– Social media


Meredith Cummings

University of Alabama
205-348-2772 and mccummings1@ua.edu

Areas of expertise:
– Social media
– News and magazine writing
– Editing


George L. Daniels

University of Alabama
gdaniels@ua.edu

Areas of expertise:
– Multiplatform reporting
– Diversity in journalism and media


Michele Day

Northern Kentucky University
daymi@nku.edu

Areas of expertise:
– Student media advising


Marsha Ducey

The College at Brockport (SUNY)
585-395-5835 and mducey@brockport.edu

Areas of expertise:
– Media law
– Freedom of Information
– Student press
– Web design
– Social media


Jennifer Ellis

Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
jellis@arkansasonline.com

Areas of expertise:
– Writing
– Design
– Special Sections


Cristy Fajardo
KCBS/KCAL Los Angeles
714-856-4705
cristy_fajardo@yahoo.com

Areas of expertise:
– General assignment reporting
– Investigative reporting
– Political reporting
– Fluent in Spanish


Kym Fox

Texas State University
512-245-3484 and kfox@txstate.edu

Areas of expertise:
– Open records and open meetings
– News writing
– Social media


Eddye Gallagher

Tarrant County College
eddye.gallagher@tccd.edu

Areas of expertise:
– Writing
– Reporting
– Editing
– Advising student newspapers


Jill Gibson
Amarillo College
jlgibson@actx.edu

Areas of expertise:
– Video reporting
– Audio reporting
– Interactive teaching techniques
– Team building


Tom Johnson
Institute for Analytic Journalism  
jtjohnson555@gmail.com

Areas of expertise:
– Basic news writing
– Data journalism
– Copy editing
– Print and web design
– Especially interested in working with teachers and students in Northern New Mexico and Southern Colorado


Marta Lavandier

Associated Press — Florida
mlavandier@ap.org

Areas of expertise:
– Photo Editing
– Journalism in Florida


Christiana Lilly
christiana.lilly@gmail.com

Areas of expertise:
– Magazine journalism


Mead Loop

Ithaca College
mloop@ithaca.edu

Areas of expertise:
– Fantasy Sports journalism


Anita Luera

Arizona State University
anita.luera@asu.edu

Areas of expertise:
– High school journalism
– Cronkite Journalism Program


Suzanne Lysak

Syracuse University
949-689-4115 and slysak@syr.edu

Areas of expertise:
– Ethics in broadcast journalism
– Local TV news management
– Social media policy in TV newsrooms
– Job profiles in TV news


Jimmy McCollum

Lipscomb University
615-966-5788 and jimmy.mccollum@lipscomb.edu

Areas of expertise:
– 21st Century Media
– Media History
– Multimedia Storytelling
– Broadcast and New Media


Mac McKerral

Western Kentucky University
mac.mckerral@wku.edu

Areas of expertise:
– Writing
– Editing
– Newsroom management
– Media law


Beatrice Motamedi
Global Student Square
510-282-7379
beatrice@globalstudentsquare.org

Areas of expertise:
– Student advising
– Web design, editing and publishing
– Multimedia story packaging
– Global journalism
– Social media


Jean Norman

Weber State University
jeannorman@weber.edu

Areas of expertise:
– Writing
– Newspaper design
– Copy editing


Jordan Otero
jordaneotero@gmail.com

Areas of expertise:
– News reporting
– Social media
– Newspapers


Lee Anne Peck

University of Northern Colorado
Leeanne.peck@unco.edu

Areas of expertise:
– News writing
– Magazine writing
– Public Relations courses
– Media ethics


Kim Pewitt-Jones

University of Texas at Arlington
kejones@uta.edu

Areas of expertise:
– News
– Editorial journalism
– Journalism ethics
– Reporting


Chris Pollone
NBC News New York
601-750-6949
Chris.Pollone@gmail.com

Areas of expertise:
– General assignment news reporting techniques and best practices
– Sports anchoring and reporting
– Writing for TV & radio news 
– Freelancing in TV news
– Field Producing
– Broadcast news ethics


Ashley Porter

Pine Crest School — Florida
ashley.porter@pinecrest.edu

Areas of expertise:
– Television journalism
– Video production
– Teaching TV


Jane Primerano

Freelancer — New Jersey
jprim7@netscape.net

Areas of expertise:
– Reporting
– Editing
– Photography


Pat Sanders

University North Alabama
256-765-4780 and pfsanders@una.edu

Areas of expertise:
– Audio and video production
– Writing
– Convergence
– Photography
– Social media, Analytics, Infographics
– Public speaking


Sara Schwartz
owlyowl@gmail.com

Areas of expertise:
– Editing
– Writing
– Applying for jobs and internships (cover letters, resumes, interviewing)
– Social media


Faith Sidlow

California State University, Fresno
fmsidlow@csufresno.edu

Areas of expertise:
– Broadcast news
– Media law
– Copy editing
– Radio/TV


Sana Siwolop

St. John’s University
914-589-7155

Areas of expertise:
– Being a smarter news consumer
– Writing basic news stories for print, online and broadcast
– Writing magazine-style feature stories
– History of American journalism
– New models for journalism storytelling
– Being an ethical reporter


Kevin Z. Smith
Kiplinger Program in Public Affairs Journalism
smith.100002@osu.edu

Areas of expertise:
– Reporting/Editing
– Digital (mobile, social)
– Ethics
– Student media advising


Jeff South

Virginia Commonwealth University
804-827-0253 and jcsouth@vcu.edu

Areas of expertise:
– Data journalism and computer-assisted reporting
– Data visualization
– Political reporting
– Environmental reporting
– Journalism course design, including teaching online


Leticia Steffen

Colorado State University-Pueblo
leticia.steffen@csupueblo.edu

Areas of expertise:
– Community/small-town journalism
– Women and journalism/media
– Feature writing


Rebecca Tallent

University of Idaho
rtallent@frontier.com

Areas of expertise:
– Native American news media and Native laws concerning journalism
– Teaching journalism and Public Relations
– Teaching critical thinking


Lynn Walsh
NBC 7 San Diego
614-859-6194
Lynn.K.Walsh@gmail.com

Areas of expertise:
– Investigative reporting
– TV news producing
– Multimedia journalism
– Social media
– Freedom of information


Peggy Watt

Western Washington University
peggy.watt@wwu.edu

Areas of expertise:
– Media law
– Access issues — including open meetings and public records
– Reporting
– Editing
– Publications advising
– Online issues (policies, SEO, trends)


Jack Zibluk

Southeast Missouri
jzibluk@semo.edu

Areas of expertise:
– Photography and photojournalism
– Multi-media design, production and storytelling
– Law, ethics, privacy and copyright
– International and travel reporting


Dori Zinn
dzinn3@gmail.com

Areas of expertise:
– Writing
– Editing
– Social media
– Online media


Stan Zoller
Lake Forest College
SEZoller@Gmail.com

Areas of expertise:
– Scholastic media
– FOI / FOIA
– News Writing
– Press rights
– News literacy

Stay in Touch
Twitter Storify Facebook Google Plus RSS Pinterest Pinterest
Flickr LinkedIn Tout


Tools for Educators
News/Articles
Let SPJ help guide the way
Collegiate Institutional Memberships
Sourcebook Teaching Plan
Public Records Teaching Plan
J-Ed Committee

Journalism
Education Committee

This committee's purpose is to promote excellence in education programs and practical research. It acts as a clearinghouse for the Society's academic members and students. It also works with annual convention planners on mentor programs both at the college and high school level.

Resources for Students
News/Articles
Internships
Training
Let SPJ help guide the way
Collegiate Institutional Memberships
Becoming a Journalist
Job Bank
Join SPJ
Mark of Excellence Awards
High School Essay Contest
Copyright © 1996-2017 Society of Professional Journalists. All Rights Reserved.

Legal | Policies

Society of Professional Journalists
Eugene S. Pulliam National Journalism Center
3909 N. Meridian St.
Indianapolis, IN 46208
317/927-8000 | Fax: 317/920-4789

Contact SPJ Headquarters
Employment Opportunities
Advertise with SPJ